top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily

As Featured On...

This space here is a new one for me but I’ve been writing our adventures down on social media for years. We have this amazing ability to always have a story to tell and it usually is one that is so far-fetched that you almost think we made it up. It truly is a case of real life being better than fiction.


A few weeks ago, a casting company for a documentary found me on social media and sent me an email asking if we would be interested in participating in a documentary about farming. The documentary is going to follow the journey of several farmers- from hobby farmers to larger scale operations. After initially writing the email off as a scam, I determined that it was actually legit. That’s when I started laughing.


After discussing things with my husband, we decided to respond to the email just to see what the whole thing was about. I felt that it was important to be upfront with them so they knew just exactly what they were getting into by asking us to talk to them about their documentary. My email went a little something like this:

“I was surprised when I got your email but we would be interested in hearing more about this documentary. For the sake of full disclosure, I feel like its important for you to know that we have no idea what we are doing and we are very much learning as we go. So far, we have been unsuccessful at growing anything in our soil, we have a chicken that is blind in one eye and we have more losses than wins. If you’re still interested after all of that, we’d be happy to chat!”


If I was surprised before, I was truly surprised when they responded saying that we sounded perfect for what they were wanting to do! It’s been several weeks since that correspondence and, in that time, we’ve hit a few more hiccups and, to be honest, their latest email goes unanswered. As much as I wouldn’t mind being the next Joanna Gaines, Jo-Jo I am not. Most days I have mud on my pants, sweat on my shirt and my hair is pulled up in a messy bun. It also may be a shock to hear that we aren’t really “spotlight” people. In fact, we had a round table with our entire bridal party at our wedding because we didn’t want to be the center of attention.


Alas, a documentary may not be in our future but its still pretty cool that someone sought us out and asked. For now, we’ll be sticking to “as featured on the Peaceful Oaks Homestead Blog”.

208 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Dad

bottom of page