top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily

My Dad

If my dad could see me now, I am certain that he would be laughing his head off. His little girl that was afraid of birds is now raising chickens. She wears more mud than makeup these days and she recently helped rescue a snake that was trapped in a fence. He would be extremely entertained to watch this story unfold.


Growing up, my dad was the kind of dad that everyone wishes they had. He was a Captain in the Pennsylvania State Police but that didn't stop him from also being a dad who showed up. He had to work during my 10th birthday party and instead of saying "I'm sorry I can't be there", he and his co-worker landed a helicopter in our front yard so he could stop by. He was in the bleachers at every event. He once drove towards a hurricane so I wouldn't be alone. He was the dad who would make everyone pancakes for breakfast after a sleepover. He was also the dad that would make any male friends hold up a sign so he could grab his camera and take a "mugshot" before they were allowed to leave with his daughters. (To this day I feel like its a miracle that my sister and I are married! Although, we have heard that our past boy friends actually enjoyed my dad's special sense of humor!)





Unfortunately, my dad isn't here to laugh his head off at my latest adventures. In January he lost his battle to cancer. Watching that disease take bits and pieces of my big, strong dad away will forever remain one of the hardest things I've had to do. By the time my dad was diagnosed, his cancer was in Stage Four. It was terminal.


Having a loved one handed a death sentence gave me opportunities that I may not have taken advantage of before. The opportunity to say "I love you" every single day. The opportunity to get in the pictures before its too late. The opportunity to show up for him, the way he always showed up for me. The opportunity to tell him how proud I was to be his daughter. I hate cancer but I will forever be grateful for having the chance to take advantage of those opportunities.


Happy Father's Day, Dad. Thanks for my brown eyes, my curly hair, my sarcastic sense of humor and, most of all, for always loving me big. I am the luckiest because you were mine.

113 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page