top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily

What's one more hat?

This was the year that all of our dreams were supposed to come together--packaged up with a nice little bow on top, of course. This was the year we had been waiting a lifetime for. This wasn't supposed to be the year that I said goodbye to my dad. Or the year that a crazy pandemic took hold of the world. Or the year that I decided to wear one more hat. But, alas, here we are.


Back in August, just days before school started, you could have asked me what my plans were and I would have told you that I intended to keep my kids in public school. I did just that. For about a week. I very quickly realized that virtual learning was not a good fit for us. (shout out to the teachers who are juggling it alllllll this year!) Most days ended in tears and, yes, some of them were mine.


And that is the story of how I ended up doing the one thing that I never thought I'd do- homeschool.

We are just two months into our homeschooling journey so I'm far from an expert but, I have to say, this has been such a great choice for our family. Its amazing to see my kids enjoy the learning process. Just today, they begged to read one more chapter out of our history book because they were so into the story. Then there was the time that I had to force them to stop doing math at 8pm! (what!?)


Not all days have been sunshine and roses but I expected that. However, I know that for now, in this season, we're doing what is right for our family and there's a whole lot of peace that comes with that.


If you have questions about homeschooling, feel free to reach out to me! Again, I'm no expert but I know what its like to be sitting there completely unsure of where to start... and slightly paralyzed by fear that you'll screw it up. (good news- so far I don't think I have so that should give you hope!)


Stay tuned for more stories from the Peaceful Oaks Academy. If its anything like the stories from the Peaceful Oaks Homestead, you're bound to have a laugh or two!


17 views0 comments
bottom of page