top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily

Homemade Sandwich Bread

Several years ago I became a label reader and what an eye-opening experience that was! Prior to that I subscribed to the "ignorance is bliss" strategy. It was glorious. It also was leading to a lot of problems in the areas of behavior and just overall health. I cared little about sugar content, dyes, ingredients and it was showing.


My newfound addiction to label reading turned me from a DI-Buyer to a DIY-er. I started looking for ways to replace unknown ingredients with ones that I actually recognized. And so began my quest to find the perfect sandwich bread recipe. It seems simple enough, right? In the day and age of Google and Pinterest, you can find thousands of recipes for sandwich bread... which is actually what made it so hard.


After trying at least a dozen of those recipes over the last several years, I am happy to report that I have finally found THE ONE. I'll be honest. My husband found this recipe and when he showed it to me, I looked it over and said "pass". The recipe had SIXTEEN steps! SIXTEEN. Who has time for that? However, it was much easier than it looked and the end result has my family using up an entire loaf before the day is done. (this serves to explain how I've gained 20 pounds during our time in quarantine)




So without further ado, here's the recipe that has us all swooning:

The Best Sandwich Bread Recipe

Ingredients

  • 2 cups warm water

  • 2 Tbs. sugar

  • 1 Tbs. dry active yeast

  • 1 tsp. salt

  • 5½ cups all purpose flour

  • 2½ Tbs. butter, softened (we’ve used margarine, but you will have better results with pure butter)



If you're new to bread making, there's a few things that you should know. For starters, this is a great sandwich bread but its not going to last as long as the store-bought stuff. Part of the reason is because your family will gobble it up quickly. The other reason is that it doesn't contain any preservatives. Also, the consistency isn't going to be exactly like the store-bought version but, in my opinion, this recipe comes really, really close.


I would love to hear what you think about this recipe if you decide to try it! I hope you love it as much as we do!

361 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page