top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily

Homemade Hamburger Buns

Picture this, it was the great quarantine of 2020 and I was running out of creative meals to make with the ingredients we had on hand. I looked in my freezer and found hamburger patties but alas, no hamburger buns in sight. So I did what any person with yeast and flour on hand would do, I made my own.



Were they like the store-bought version? No. Were they a hit with even my toughest critics? YES.


So now you want the recipe, right? Without further ado...


Homemade Hamburger Buns


Ingredients

  • 3/4 to 1 cup lukewarm water*

  • 2 tablespoons butter, at room temperature

  • 1 large egg

  • 3 1/2 cups (418g) King Arthur Unbleached All-Purpose Flour

  • 1/4 cup (50g) sugar

  • 1 1/4 teaspoons salt

  • 1 tablespoon instant yeast

See full directions here.


While this obviously takes a bit more work than just grabbing a pack at that store, I really like the fact that I can identify every ingredient in here. That definitely counts for something in my book.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page