top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily

Baked Oatmeal: A Real Crowd Pleaser

Around here, we firmly believe that breakfast absolutely can be dinner! One time while my mom was visiting us, she made this recipe and it has been a family favorite ever since. In fact, my kids actually thank me when I make this meal.


Today, I wanted to share the recipe with you. There are so many variations that you can make so you'll never get bored! My kids will never turn down anything with chocolate chips but I mostly make the recipe, as is.


Amish-Style Baked Oatmeal

Ingredients

  • 2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats (not instant)

  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar

  • 1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans, divided

  • 1/2 cup raisins

  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

  • 2 large eggs

  • 2 cups milk

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted, plus more for greasing the dish

  • 2 tart yet sweet baking apples, such as Honey Crisp, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch chunks (about 2 cups)


See full directions here.


I would love to hear what different variations you try! I'm always up for something new!

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page