top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily

Bugs, Bugs, Everywhere

Ever since moving to Louisiana I've said that I'm fairly sure that the unofficial state motto is "the place where insects never die". I stand by that.


I grew up in Pennsylvania and the harsh winters killed off the bugs (okay, I'm talking about the mosquitoes here) whereas in Louisiana they seem to be a year-round staple. I swear they're monstrous. As bad as the mosquitoes are, the ticks seem to be plentiful as well. So far this spring, I've already pulled two ticks off of two different members of my family.


As luck would have it, three out of the five members of my family have BIG reactions to bug bites/stings. Every year its the same. One of my kids gets a bite, they swell up, and THEN I remember that we need to start applying insect repellent. Preferably the kind without DEET. Luckily, I found a product that fits the bill and actually works!


This stuff has been a life saver for us. It isn't filled with harsh chemicals so I can even use it on the littlest member of our crew. Plus its effective! Other selling points for me:

  • Tested to repel mosquitoes, ticks, and fleas and prevent bug bites

  • Repels mosquitoes, ticks, and fleas naturally with 99 percent active ingredients, plus 1 percent vitamin E

  • Formulated with essential oils traditionally recommended for their bug-repellent properties

  • Made with 100 percent naturally derived, plant-based ingredients

  • Formulated without DEET, parabens, fillers, phthalates, petrochemicals, animal-derived ingredients, synthetic preservatives, synthetic fragrances, or synthetic colorants

  • Rubs easily into skin without a greasy or sticky finish

  • Hypoallergenic

  • Pure, gentle formula free from synthetic chemicals

  • Appropriate for use on children

In addition, a little bit goes a long way. Which is a big plus for a family of five that is outside on a daily basis!


You can find more of my summer time favorites here.

Now excuse me as I go and spray down every member of my family.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page